i’ve been thinking a lot about this topic of acting on your own behalf, treating yourself well, etc. i’ve met and read about a few different women who are able to listen or intuit what their body wants and needs a little better than most people and i’m realizing i’d like to live more like that. my sister said it’s like her mind is a hurried anxious mom dragging her body, like 3-year old little sister. the harder she works to push through and get things done, the more likely the little girl is to start crying. i want to treat my body gently, recognizing my limitations and kindly deferring, despite my mind and will wanting to power through. of course, all this is easy to say writing from a plush chair in the middle of our tranquil living room in rural ohio. it’s quite another to carve out rest and space in a big stressed-out metropolis.

as i’ve been learning to listen to my deep heart and body more, i’ve been concerned that feeling and listening are bad introspective practices that might be taking me away from my relationship with God. as i was drifting off to sleep last night, i was thinking through psalm 16 which i memorized a few years ago and the following verse popped up:

I will praise the LORD, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.

isn’t that interesting? the Lord counsels David during the day, and at night he hears from his heart. maybe they’re not contradictory. if we have the mind of Christ, maybe intently listening is hearing from God. now, i know what you’re thinking: i’ve gone off the deep end and am now a psycho new-ager. but, i’m not. i’m just observing something.

